To Top

Know about the Historical Milestones in the evolution of our National Flag!

We all know how our current National Flag looks like! But do we know about its evolution history? Know about the changes our Indian Flag has gone through!

A flag became the symbol of the country so any independent country needed a flag to represent a unique symbol of the particular nation.  It is really amazing to see the various changes that our National Flag went through since its first inception. It was discovered or recognised during our national struggle for freedom.

The evolution of the Indian National Flag sailed through many vicissitudes to arrive at what it is today. In one way, it reflects the political developments in the nation. Some of the historical milestones in the evolution of our National Flag involve the following:

1. 1906

Indian flag 1906

The first national flag in India is said to have been hoisted on August 7, 1906, in the Parsee Bagan Square (Green Park) in Calcutta now Kolkata. The flag was composed of three horizontal strips of red, yellow and green.

2. 1907

Indian flag 1907

The second flag was hoisted in Paris by Madame Cama and her band of banished revolutionaries in 1907 (according to some in 190’s). The second flag was a little different from the first one. This flag was also exhibited at a socialist conference in Berlin.

3. 1917

Indian flag 1917


The third flag was hoisted by Dr. Annie Besant and Lokmanya Tilak in 1917 during the Home rule movement. It was designed using five red and four green horizontal strips (equally divided) in alternate manners. It also contains seven stars identifying the Saptarishis and a Union Jack in the left-hand top corner together with a white crescent and star in the right top corner.

4. 1921

Indian flag 1921

In 1921, all India Congress Committee in Bezwada (Vijayawada) designed a flag (having two strips of red and green colour representing the Hindus and Muslim community) and took that to Mahatma Gandhi Ji. Where they suggested adding a white strip (in the middle to represent other communities) and a blue wheel (Charkha) to represent the progress of Nation.

5. 1931

Indian flag 1931

The year 1931 was a landmark in the history of the flag. A resolution was passed adopting a tricolor flag as our national flag. This flag, the forebear of the present one, was saffron, white and green with Mahatma Gandhi’s spinning wheel at the center. It was, however, clearly stated that it bore no communal significance and was to be interpreted thus.

6. 1947

Indian flag 1947

However, it was adopted completely on 22nd of July in 1947 in the meeting of Constituent Assembly. They decided to adopt a national flag with same tri-colours and significance with only a little change, the spinning wheel was altered to the Dharma Charkha of the King Asoka as an emblem on the national flag. This flag finally became the national flag of the Independent India.

We feel proud to be a part of this beautiful country. Wish you all a very Happy Independence Day! JAI HIND!

More in General